Welcome to Big Box of Crayons Family Preschool - your child's home away from home.

I have been working in the child care field 30 plus years. I have a college degree in Early Childhood Education (Child Care Specialist) that I earned with High Honors, graduating with a perfect 4.0 GPA. I have continued my education by taking other classes at the college and community level over the last 25 plus years.

I have learning disabilities. I am Dyslexic and I have trouble at times with spelling and grammar. I have Sensory Disorder (if you don't know what that is, it's mainly a stronger link to your senses.) I have the allergies, asthma and IBS, so I am aware of health issues that are commonly related to children. None of these issues have ever been a problem with working with children; they just make me more respectful of what some of the children are going through. The norm is there is no norm anymore.

I have been with my husband since 1999. We have been married since 2005. He is from Colorado and I am from Minnesota, but I have family ties in Norway and California. We have a daughter that was born in 2012 and and have dog that was born in 2016. I don't drink, smoke, or do drugs. Nor have I ever tried any of that. I am a lot of fun, but pretty much a by the rules sort of girl.

Growing up, I worked in the nursery at my church, was a lifeguard, and also worked as a camp counselor a few summers at a church based camp. I worked as a nanny in college for a wonderful family (it was weird to see the youngest be old enough for high school.) I worked my way from Aide to Asst Teacher to Teacher to Lead Teacher in the child care system over the years. I was the youth intern, softball coach, and Sunday School Teacher at my church for years until I let my former students take over for me when I moved. When time allows I am involved in my church's youth program. I am also a girl scout leader. I am down to one troop now thankfully. I just couldn't be a leader for all the girls in all their different troops. Every spring break in college I went on mission trips to build schools for children in Mexico. I am very involved with my husband's softball teams each summer/fall. I have been taking professional dance lessons since I was 5 years old. I am not going on "So You Think You Can Dance" anytime soon, but still love to dance and take lessons for fun. I am very much into photography. It was the first major crossroads in my adult life, having to choose between Education and Photography. I am very close to my family; my cousins are some of my best friends. I just love children and can't imagine not working in a field relating to them in some way, shape, or form.

There is tons more I could tell about myself, but just wanted you to get an idea of who your child's teacher would be. Feel free to ask me anything else you want to know.

Thanks for taking the time to look. Good luck on your search and remember not to take the first thing that might look good. Take some time, ask questions, and visit different centers/homes. With over 2,000 childcare centers and houses giving care in the metro area, there is a program out there for EVERY CHILD no matter what you are looking for. Remember this is your child's life; they will spend just as much time in some sort of child care setting as they will with their family. Don't settle on something that isn't a perfect fit for them. They are the world to you and the future to the world.